More Radio,
For Everyone

More ways to listen than ever before from DAB to your smartphone and connected speaker.

Ways To Listen

All your usual favourite stations plus lots of digital-only stations give you more choice than ever.

Your Stations

Get digital radio in your car. Find out about new cars and upgrading your existing car to DAB.

In Your Car

Find your nearest registered in-car digital radio Tick Mark installer.

Registered Installers Checker
Scala Radio announces more names for presenter line up
Read More
Scala Radio announces more names for presenter line up

With under two weeks to go until launch, Scala Radio, the brand new digital station offering classical music for modern life, has announced further presenters for its line-up.

Anthea Turner, Alexis Ffrench, Luci Holland, Faye Treacy and Hannah Cox will join the new station, alongside Charles Nove at Breakfast, Simon Mayo on Mid-mornings, Sam Hughes on Afternoons, Mark Forrest on Drive and Jamie Crick on Sunday breakfast. Music innovators Goldie and William Orbit will also launch their own series - Goldie’s Classic Life and William Orbit in The Space.

Evenings, from 7-9pm, will begin with a launch week series on the London Symphony Orchestra in Scala Radio Spotlight fronted by Jack Pepper. Magic’s Hannah Cox will present Late Night Scala, from 10pm to 1am, with ‘classical music inspired love stories.’

Anthea Turner joins former LBC and BBC London presenter, Chris Rogers, on Sundays at 10am, starting from 31st March. Speaking ahead of the launch, Anthea said:

“Music and conversation are two of the greatest things in life, so it’ll be such a pleasure to bring weekend playfulness to Scala Radio each Sunday.”

Also joining the line-up are comedian and trombonist, Faye Treacy (Saturday and Sunday 6-8pm) and Edinburgh-based composer, arranger and sound artist, Luci Holland, who will front The Console, a show dedicated to music in video gaming, on Saturdays at 5pm.

Pianist and composer, Alexis Ffrench, will present Music in Motion, a show set to take listeners on a journey into his musical influences, from neo-classical and ‘the piano chill zone’ to rebel composers. Listeners can expect everything from Chopin to Shostakovich and Beach Boys to Beastie Boys as he looks at the relationship between classical and contemporary styles.

Scala Radio is a brand-new entertainment radio station that breaks the mould of classical music in the UK. The station will play familiar masters from Mozart and Holst to surprising new works from living composers Karl Jenkins, Rebecca Dale, Thom Yorke, film scores and musicals, plus music performed by bright young artists such as Sheku Kanneh-Mason. Scala Radio is for those that love classical music and lead a modern life. Bringing together familiar masters along with fresh and exciting new classical pieces, Scala Radio will be presented with an informal ‘come as you are’ attitude.

Steve Parkinson, Group Managing Director, National Radio Bauer Media said:

“Scala Radio is reflective of modern life and the place classical music has within it – we are excited for the station to launch on the 4th of March and this varied line-up of presenters to bring it to life.”

Scala Radio began test transmissions on the SDL national DAB multiplex on Monday 18 February before its launch at 10am on Monday 4 March.

To find out how to listen to Scala Radio go to

More radio, in your car

Enjoy digital radio in your car whether you’re buying a new vehicle or upgrading your existing one.

Read More
Nominations announced for Jazz FM Awards 2019
Read More
Nominations announced for Jazz FM Awards 2019

The nominations for the Jazz FM Awards 2019, which take place in April, have been announced. The Awards recognise the best emerging new artists, contemporary icons and established stars from across the worlds of jazz, soul and blues.

Nominations include saxophonist Wayne Shorter, Mercury Prize-shortlisted Sons of Kemet, trailblazing Chicago jazz drummer Makaya McCraven, popular neo-soul singer and producer Leon Bridges, blues star Eric Bibb, and from the emerging jazz scene Nubya Garcia, Emma Jean-Thackray, Joe Armon-Jones, Moses Boyd, neo-soulstress Poppy Ajudha alongside South London collective Steam Down. Kamasi Washington’s impromptu performance at the residency has also been nominated for the Live Experience of the Year Award.

The UK Jazz Act of the Year and Live Experience of the Year, will be decided by a public vote. Public voting is open now at and will close on Monday 12th March 2019.

The PPL Lifetime Achievement Award, PRS For Music Gold Award and Impact Award recipients will be announced ahead of the ceremony. Previous winners of these special awards have included the likes of George Benson, Dame Cleo Laine, Quincy Jones, Gregory Porter, Oscar-winning film director Damien Chazelle and the late Hugh Masekela.

Jazz FM’s Head of Music and broadcaster Chris Philips will be hosting the Awards Ceremony with Jez Nelson once again. Of the nominations list this year, Chris said:

“This year’s Jazz FM Award nominees list reflects another tremendous year of growth and interest in the music. In particular it’s fantastic to see some of our formerly recognised emerging talent like Nubya Garcia and Shabaka Hutchings sharing nominations with some of the World’s best, testament indeed to a vibrant and strengthening jazz community and industry here in the UK.”

The night will also feature special performances from a host of celebrated artists, still to be revealed. The main awards ceremony takes place at Shoreditch Town Hall on International Jazz Day which is 30th April.

To see a full list of nominees and for more information please visit

The Jazz FM Awards 2019 is a partnership between Jazz FM and Serious and is made possible with the support of PRS for Music, PPL, Shoreditch Town Hall, Mishcon de Reya, Lateralize, Cambridge Audio, British Airways, Arqiva, Oanda, Warsteiner, Savile Row Gin, Denbies and Yamaha UK.

Check Your Available Stations
Check which stations are available at your address by entering
your postcode into the Postcode Checker below.