Ofcom invites applications for third round of small-scale DAB multiplex licences

Applications have opened for the third round of small-scale DAB radio multiplex licences for 25 areas across England, Northern Ireland, Wales and Scotland.

The small-scale DAB programme will enable the launch of around 200 multiplexes, covering all four UK nations, carrying a range of radio services, from grass-roots community services to specialist music stations, and services aimed at minority groups and other under-served audiences.

Last month, listeners in areas in North-East England were the first to benefit from this revolution in local radio as a host of new services took to the airwaves.

Today Ofcom has opened licence applications for the following areas:

• Bedford
• Belfast & Lisburn
• Coventry
• Darlington & Bishop Auckland
• Dundee
• East Hull
• Leicester
• Lincoln
• Llandudno & Betws-y-Coed
• Middlesbrough & Redcar
• Milton Keynes
• North Aberdeen
• Nottingham
• Oxford
• Rutland & Stamford
• Shaftesbury & Blandford Forum
• South Aberdeen
• Swansea
• Swindon & Marlborough
• Taunton
• Warminster, Devizes & Trowbridge
• West Hull
• Wetherby & Harrogate
• York
• Yorkshire Coast

The closing date for applications is 5pm on Monday 25 April 2022. 

Ofcom is also announcing today the 27 licence areas to be advertised in the fourth round of small-scale DAB multiplex licences, in the second half of 2022.

Find out more here.